REGISTERED MASS APPRAISER DESIGNATION PROGRAM

Permanent Administrative Regulations

Article 6 —REGISTERED MASS APPRAISER 93-6-1. Prerequisites. Each candidate for the registered
mass appraisal (RMA) designation shall complete all requirements necessary to be eligible to hold the
office of Kansas appraiser pursuant to K.S.A. 19-430 and 19-432, and amendments thereto, before the
issuance of the RMA designation. (Authorized by implementing K.S.A. 19-430, as amended by L. 1997,
Ch. 126, § 33; effective, T-93-8-29-97, Aug. 29, 1997; effective Dec. 5, 1997; amended April 20, 2001.)

93-6-2. Education requirements. (a)Each candidate for the registered mass appraiser (RMA) designation
shall complete 200 hours of courses, which shall include those courses specified in subsection (b). Each
course shall require the successful completion of a written exam.

““Hour,”” as used in this regulation, shall mean one clock hour of at least 50 minutes.

(b) Mandatory courses shall consist of the following:

International association of assessing officers (IAAO)

(IAAO) course 101 or equivalent course approved by the secretary of revenue .............. 30 hours

IAAO course 102 or equivalent course approved by the secretary of revenue ................... 30 hours

IAAO course 151 or equivalent course approved by the secretary of revenue ................... 15 hours

IAAO course 300, 311, 312, or 331 or equivalent course approved by the secretary of revenue
............................................................................................................................................. 30 hours

IAAO course 400 or equivalent course approved by the secretary of revenue .................... 30 hours
Kansas property tax law course approved by the secretary of revenue ... 20 hours
Personal property course approved by the secretary of revenue ..., 15 hours

Total mandatory COUISE NOULS ...iurivimiisisirrin ettt st 170 hours

Any candidate may substitute successfully completed appraisal courses with an emphasis on mass
appraisal approved by the real estate appraisal board appointed by the governor pursuant to K.S.A. 58-
4104, and amendments thereto. However, no course substitution shall be permitted for the Kansas
property tax law course and the personal property course. Course substitution shall be subject to the
approval of the secretary of revenue upon finding that the course approved by the real estate appraisal
board is substantially equivalent to the corresponding course required by this regulation.

(c) The remaining 30 course hours may be selected from courses offered or approved by the secretary of
revenue. To obtain course approval, the candidate shall demonstrate that the content of the course is
directly related to the appraisal of real or personal property for ad valorem taxation purposes.
(Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 2013 Supp. 19-430; effective, T-93-8-29-97, Aug. 29, 1997;
effective Dec. 5, 1997; amended April 20, 2001; amended Dec. 20, 2013.)



