SECTION 6: OTHER EMPLOYEE BENEFITS

6.1 Health Insurance

Any Elected or Full-time employee is eligible to participate in the group health insurance
program offered by the County effective the first full calendar month following the thirtieth (30)
day of initial employment. Employee contribution rates will be prepared by County payroll
and will be available to employees at New Hire Orientation or during the annual open
enrollment period.

e The county will contribute toward the cost of single health coverage of Elected Officials
and Fulltime employees based on deductible level. In addition, those employees working
an average of 30 hours or more per week will be eligible for health insurance coverage
with county contributions established based on deductible levels.

e Any employee or elected official may at their partial expense, acquire health insurance
coverage for his/her family. In addition to County contribution toward the cost of single
health coverage, an additional percentage will be applied to the monthly
Employee/Children, Employee/Spouse, and Employee/Family health and dental coverage.
This percentage will be figured annually based on level of coverage and deductible option
selected by the employee. The employee shall pay the cost of the optional family health
insurance coverage through payroll deduction.

¢ The County cannot guarantee coverage or benefits in any way. The County reserves
the right to change or eliminate benefits when the County deems it necessary.

e Group health coverage shall terminate on the last day of the month following the
employee's final compensatory date. Harper County offers continued coverage for
terminated employees per the Conciliatory Omnibus Budgetary Reconciliation Act
(COBRA).

¢ An employee who takes a leave of absence shall be permitted to remain in the Harper
County health insurance group, but shall be required to pay his/her own premium.

e Employees who have a minimum of four (4) years of service with Harper County prior to
retirement are eligible to participate in the County Health Care Benefit Retirement Group
provided the employee is sixty (60) years old upon retirement. The retiring employee
must make written application to the County Human Resources Office within (30) days of
the final date of employment. The premium cost of this coverage shall be established by
the County's health insurance provider, and the retired employee shall be responsible for
the full amount of the premium. This coverage will cease when, a) the retired employee
attains the age of sixty five (65); b) failure to make premium payment on a timely basis,
and c) the retiree being covered or eligible for coverage in another health insurance plan.

e An employee with at least ten (10) years of service who is qualified for KPERS
retirement benefits and not yet age sixty-five (65) is eligible to continue on the
group health insurance program provided that the retiree pays all actual premium
cost for such coverage.

6.2 Life Insurance
The County pays for a $20,000 Group Term Life Insurance policy for each Elected and each Full-
time employee.

6.3 Retirement Program
Harper County is a member of the Kansas Public Employees Retirement System (KPERS),
which requires employee participation beginning on the first day of employment in a
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KPERS covered position. The county is required by Kansas statute to deduct
contributions from the employee's pay. The employee's contributions are fixed by statute
as a percentage of gross salary. KPERS has provisions for full retirement at age 65 and
earlier retirement based upon age and years of service.

Upon retirement, an employee shall be paid for accrued vacation and sick leave in
accordance with the provisions of the manual.

Retiring employees will receive a monetary gift equal to $10.00 for each year of
employment. This is a taxable fringe, per the Department of Labor, and will be processed
through payroll. The County will also contribute up to $100.00 towards a celebration
honoring those employees retiring with 10 or more consecutive years of service.

Please see Section 6.1 for Retiree Health Insurance information.

6.4 Worker's Compensation.

The County provides Worker's Compensation coverage for all employees as required by the
State of Kansas. This coverage provides medical care and compensation to injured workers at
no cost to the employee.

If deemed compensable by the insurer, Worker's Compensation benefits may include coverage
of medical expenses for treatment of injuries or occupational iliness, and income protection for
employees who must be absent from work due to occupational illness or injury. Limited
compensation is available for those employees suffering from a serious permanent injury, such
as loss of limb or loss of life.

Employees will not be retaliated against by the County because he or she has filed a claim or
received benefits from Worker's Compensation.

Purpose
The purpose of this policy is to outline procedures for reporting and documenting work related
injuries, as required by Harper County, Kansas.

Procedures

Employees are required to report any injury or illness occurring while in the course of
employment to his or her Department Head or Supervisor immediately, and complete the
provided Work Related Injury/lliness form. Department Heads injured in the course of
employment must notify Human Resources immediately.

Department Heads are responsible for submitting the incident report and the names of any
witnesses to Human Resources within 24 hours of the incident/iliness. Timely reporting
ensures the best recall of the facts and the prompt delivery of benefits to employees.

These steps must be followed, regardless of how insignificant the injury/illness may seem at the
time. This is necessary to ensure that any subsequent claim is handled correctly and to comply
with legal reporting and record maintenance requirements. Failure to follow these procedures
may affect the employee’s ability to receive Worker's Compensation benefits, and may result in
disciplinary action by the County.

Employees seeking medical treatment must be seen in a clinic setting except in the case of a
medical emergency, then employees should go directly to the nearest emergency room.
Chiropractic treatment must be approved by the carrier in advance of the appointment.
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Employees are required to provide a physician’s release noting restrictions, or a full duty
release, to Human Resources as soon as reasonably possible. This document must be
received in Human Resources prior to the injured worker returning to work in any capacity.

Compensation
Employees unable to complete their regularly scheduled shift on the day of the incident will be
compensated for the entire shift.

In the event that the illness or injury requires the employee to miss additional work due to
medical appointments, or because of work restrictions put in place by their healthcare provider,
they will be required to use available Transitional Sick Time or Paid Time Off (PTO) until
Workers Compensation income replacement benefits begin. If approved, these benefits will
account for approximately 2/3 of the employee’s regular salary. Employees may choose to use
available Sick or PTO to cover the remaining 1/3 of their regular income during this time. This
must be arranged with Human Resources in advance.

Return-to-Work Program

In the event that a work related illness or injury results in the employee being restricted from
performing their regular duties, an offer of modified duty may be granted by the County.
Modified duty is defined as the primary duties of an existing or transitional position. In some
cases, it may simply be a temporary alteration of the employee’s regular job duties. Jobs may
be modified in terms of task, time/schedule, equipment, and work performed.

The decision to offer modified duty will be based on written documentation from a healthcare
provider and the availability of work that can accommodate the restrictions listed.

Employees refusing modified duty risk losing a portion, or all of their Worker's Compensation
benefits.

Additional Labor Laws to Consider

Employees may be eligible for protection under the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) and
the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) along with Workers Compensation benefits. The
Human Resources Department is responsible for coordinating these benefits.

Zero Tolerance

Workers’ Compensation fraud is a punishable crime. Harper County and our insurer have a
“zero tolerance” policy for fraud. Offenders will be prosecuted. Suspected fraudulent activity
should be reported to a Department Head or Human Resources immediately. Tips received will
be investigated and kept strictly confidential.

Enforcement

Employees who are found to be offenders of this policy will be subject to disciplinary action at
the discretion of their Department Head and Board of County Commissioners, up to and
including termination.

Approved by Harper County Commissioners, effective 7/1/2018

6.5 Donated Paid Time Off (PTO) Policy

Harper County recognizes that employees may have a family emergency that causes a severe

impact to them, resulting in the need for additional time off in excess of their available PTO and

Transitional Sick Bank. To address this need, eligible employees will be allowed to donate

available leave from their unused balances to their co-workers in need in accordance with the
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policy outlined below.

This policy is strictly voluntary.

Overview

This program is a donation program whereby accrued PTO or Transitional Sick Bank leave may
be donated to a pool for sharing with eligible employees in approved circumstances.

Employee Donation of Leave Time
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The donation of PTO or Transitional Sick leave is strictly voluntary and is
irrevocable.

An employee may donate PTO or Transitional Sick leave to a pool for use by
eligible recipients. Any unused leave so donated will revert to the donor pool and
will not be returned to the donating employee.

Donors may not specify who will be the recipient of donated leave.

Hours are based on actual wages. For example, if employee “A” making
$15/hour donates four hours of PTO, the pool, or bank, will increase by $60.00. If
employee “B” making $10/hour requests, and is approved for, 4 hours, the pool
will decrease by $40.00.

All donations will be in increments of whole hours.

The donation minimum is 4 hours.

The PTO donation maximum is 80 hours per calendar year.

The Transitional Sick Bank donation maximum is 100 per calendar year.

An employee will not be allowed to donate to the pool if the donation will drop
their PTO balance to less than 120 hours.

. Employees who are currently on an approved leave of absence may not donate

leave time.

Employees may donate to the pool any time during the year.

Both PTO and Transitional Sick Bank leave may be donated. Transitional Sick
Bank may only be donated by those employees who have been employed with
the County more than 10 years.

Employees donating leave time through this program will not be required to
recognize compensation income for the value of the donated PTO or Transitional
Sick Bank leave, therefore are not allowed to take a charitable contribution
deduction.

Recipient Eligibility
1. Donated time will be available only in the following approved situation:

a)

Family Health Related Emergency — Defined as a critical or catastrophic illness
or injury of the employee or immediate family member that poses a threat to life
and/or requires inpatient or hospice health care. These “emergencies” will
require the prolonged absence of the employee from duty and will result in a
substantial loss of income to the employee, due to exhaustion of all available
PTO and/or Transitional Sick Bank time. Certification from a licensed
healthcare provider will be required.
¢ Immediate family member is defined as a spouse, child, step-child,
parent, step-parent, or other relationship in which the employee is the
legal guardian or sole caretaker.

2. Employees may utilize donated leave only after they have exhausted all available
accrued PTO and Transitional Sick Bank leave.
3. Employees receiving donated leave time may receive no more than 320 hours (8 weeks)
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within a rolling 12-month period.

4. The minimum request amount is 40 hours.

5. Hours received from the Donated leave pool will be paid at the receiving employee’s
regular hourly rate.

6. Time received from the Donated leave pool will be recognized as compensation income
and subject to all required tax withholdings.

7. Donated time may only be used for time off related to the approved request.

8. Any donated time that is in excess of the time off needed will be returned to the Donation
Bank. Donated time may not be liquidated for cash.

9. PTO will not be accrued while an employee is utilizing donated time.

Conditions or Circumstances that Do Not Qualify for a Receipt of Donated Leave
Employees may not receive donated leave in the following circumstances:
1. Any work-related accident or illness which is compensable under Workers’
Compensation benefits;
2. Disability incurred in the course of the commission of a felony (including driving while
impaired) or assault;
3. Disability related to an uncomplicated pregnancy/delivery
4. An employee may also not utilize donated leave:
¢ During the period of any disciplinary suspension; or
¢ While receiving disability insurance (Short or Long Term Disability); or
o After the termination of employment
5. An employee employed less than one year is ineligible to receive donated leave.

Procedure:
Employees who would like to make a request to receive donated leave are required to complete
a “Donated Leave Request Form” and submit it to Human Resources, along with a completed
Healthcare Certification Form.
¢ In the event of a chronic illness or injury requiring episodic treatment (dialysis,
chemotherapy, radiation therapy, physical therapy), the recipient may use donated leave
in non-consecutive increments.
¢ No individual person may receive donated leave in excess of 320 hours (eight weeks)
during the course of one consecutive, rolling 12-month period.

Employees who wish to donate leave time must complete a “Donation of Leave Form” and
submit it to Human Resources.

Approval:
Requests for donated leave must meet the Family Health Related Emergency definitions noted
above, and must be approved by the Donated Leave Certification Committee.

The Donated Leave Certification Committee will review the request within 5 business days of
receipt. The Committee’s decision to approve or disapprove a request will be by simple majority
vote.

The Human Resources Manager will notify the applicant of the Committee’s decision, and the
reasoning for that decision.

All determinations made by the Committee are final.

Requests for leave will be kept confidential. Only the Department Head and the Donated Leave
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Certification Committee will have access to the information included on the Request and
Certification paperwork. The original documents will be kept in a file separate from the
employee file, in the Human Resources Department.

6.5, Donated Paid Time Off Policy approved by Board of County Commissioners on 3/6/2017, amended on 9/4/2018.

48



